Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting into rehab work and was given a grounded pigeon by the rehabber I am currently working under. The pigeon had a broken wing that appears to have set bad. I was told that this one may be a perm placement as it may never fly and am totally ok with that. My question lies in what would be suitable housing for a grounded pigeon. Right now he is in a carrier (the carrier has a perch but the pigeon is unable to get itself up on it to roost but walks comfortably in and around the temp cage.) while my DH builds him a more perm home. We had a couple ideas one being a rather large cage (I would guestimate 6ft x 4ft) that was being built for a large reptile that we no longer possess. My idea is to turn it on its side and place it on legs almost like a rabbit hutch. It would have a small covered area to nest in and the rest of the area to walk about. Our other option it to start from scratch using hardware cloth and building a typical bird type cage. Suggestion appreciated.

·
Registered
5,525 Posts