Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hand feeding a baby pigeon. Bit of context one of my pairs kept sitting on eggs and then not caring for the babies its happened multiple times. This time when the eggs hatched the same day I found one cold but alive not under the mother and the other dead, they won't look after them. This is my first time hand feeding a baby but have done loads of research mainly here, feeding kaytee with apple cider vinegar and apple sauce using the balloon syringe method. Checking now every 3 hours to see if the crops empty to feed again. The baby keeps crying for food for a good while after I feed her, the crop seems full with the bubbles on her back inflated but she keeps peeping and begging. Is this normal?? Shes pooping regularly and its a fairly solid consistency, not stinky, and brown sonetimes a bit green. Shes also 6 days old and her eyes still haven't opened. I've become very attached to her and am very nervous about losing her. Also any advice on when she'll be ready to not eat at night, the every 3 hour feedings are taking a toll on me haha.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I thought she was twisting her head strange but assumed it wasn't a concern but its gotten worse. She twists her head upside down to her right side and often flips upside down and gets stuck, peeping to be put rightside up. Her legs spread often because of her flipping over, shes on paper towels with a paper towel "donut" to stop her from flipping but still manages sometimes. I don't think its PMV because she doesn't have fits, no vomiting or runny eyes or laboured breathing and her poops healthy. What should I do? Should I splint her legs like you would a baby chicken? I emailed the big animal vet near me as I believe the regular vet won't see pigeons.

·
Registered
6,974 Posts