Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there i just registered with this forum as it seems to have the most info on what i need.
last night i had a phone call to collect a bird, that appeard to have 1 leg and 1 wing. i live in a quiet area with lots of wildlife and have a macaw and a cockatoo so most people think i'm the person to call, although i have helped wildlife in the past i am no expert.
back to the bird, not sure of the age but it does still have a little down, its left eye is injured and i think it will lose sight in this eye or maybethe eye. its left leg looks broken at the top socket as it hangs loosely from the abdomen but not severed just looks badly broken. injured right wing plucked feathers and a few small lesions. its neck has some bald patches where its obviously been plucked, poor thing has no tail feathers. its shoulder has sometypeofinjurytoo but stuck up so hard to tell. i checked for bleeding and although it had been bleedingat some point it wasn't when i got there and hasn't bled since. a witness thinks it had a very narrow escape from a sparrow hawk, and they managed to guard the dove until i got there to prevent further damage. i will get some pictures up asap wasjust wondering if there was anything i could bedoing in the meantime to help this bird. our local vet doesn't deal with wild birds as i found out with past experience. i have splinted broken legs before on other birds but the breaks were never that high up. please let me know if there are any treatments i can give and where ishould get them from, i'm willing to help this bird and don't mind passing it on to someone with more experience. many thanks in advance. i will keep updating.
once again many thanks geebop1978

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Sandie thanks for replying. i am in colerne which is near chippenham uk.
i have contacted someone who is experieced and am just waiting for a reply.