Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this, and I am in DESPERATE need of some helpful advice. I found a bird yesterday whom I believe may have PMV, especially after the very informative forums on the subject on your site. Of course the vet wanted to recommend euthanasia, but the alternate is over $400 worth of blood and bacterial testing. We have three fairly aggressive cats at home, so we can't keep him here if he requires weeks/months of special care (we can keep him if it's on a temporary basis, but not if he is not releasable).

I need to get some advice asap on how to proceed with this beautiful pigeon, whom is very healthy except for his PMV signs (we don't even know for sure if it is PMV or not). We are paying a couple hundred dollars to keep him at the vet's tonight and get fluids, vitamins, anti-biotics, and high-density nutrients in his system (he is bright-eyed and not hurt, according to the vet, but she isn't sure if he isn't eating because he's a little shell-shocked or because he has PMV, or worse). Tomorrow we will need to decide what to do next, and WE REALLY NEED HELP!! I am in Las Vegas, and haven't been able to find any avian rescue organizations here who can help. Please feel free to email me at [email protected] with any useful advice, or if you know of anyone who can help. Thank you, Marianne

·
Registered
10,369 Posts
Hi Marianne,

I'd be glad to take him...I deal with these issues all the time.

Larry PM'd you my contact info.

I am downtown, right off I-15 and Charleston.

Best wishes!

Phil
Lv

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you!!

Hi Phil--

I just left you an email and voicemail with my contact info, and I cannot thank you and everyone here at Pigeon Talk enough! You guys are just wonderful, and in my hour of need everyone seems to be stepping in to help. I look forward to your call as soon as you have a chance. Thanks!! --Marianne :)

·
Registered
10,369 Posts