Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to all,

I am new to your site, but not to the task of bird husbandry and captive breeding. As a retired wildlife biologist, I worked in the recovery of endangered wild bird species. I am now an artisan who specializes in recreating birds out of wood and I am now working on a project for a military museum, which hopes to replace their taxidermist prepared Carrier Pigeons with accurate wooded copies. I would like to ask those of you who might have head shots depicting perfect beaks and nares of these beauties to post or send me a few close up to help in my detailed task. Front head shots, side, from above and below beak would be greatly appreciated. I will not use your pics for any other purpose, but for assisting me in accurately crafting the heads. My web site is www.birdofwood.com. Thank you for any assistance you may be able to provide. JRV

·
Registered
233 Posts
Those are some nice carved artwork of birds. I think you can google rock dove or pigeon and find a lot of pictures online. How much do you charge for the carvings? I may want one carved out of my favorite pigeon in the future. :)

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
i love them, i want one, i deserve one, i save the real ones, will have to look around on the store page when the birdies give me a minute

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Your work is gorgeous!
Question, do you need rock pigeons or homers? Weren't the carriers homers? Excuse my ignorance if not, heh.