Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am an exchange student from the USA that is studying abroad in Argentina. Today, we found a small bird in the corner of our front porch area, and came to find out it was a pigeon. I left it in the front yard for about 2-3 hours, only coming to find out later that it is not normal for young pigeons to leave the nest....so...I have adopted it.

I was given some syringes at the local vet, bought some type of bird food, that is very small in grain. I tried mixing the grain with water, and feeding it to the bird through the syringe, and then tried the trick with the cloth over the end, and have not had much success, if any, at getting the little fella to eat... It was not hard to catch it, it practically let me pick it up. It actually just sits in my hand and then closes its eyes like its going to sleep. The same when I have it in the box. I don't know if its just weak, or if it likes the heat of my hands....

I need to know what I can do to help save it's life... I am going to put some pictures up as well.

The bird does not appear to be injured at all, and I'm guessing is about 15 days old??

Attachments

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
What a good soul you are Adam.
We have a member in Argentina that may be able to help you. I'll go find her contact info.

Leave her a message and how she may contact you.

http://www.pigeons.biz/forums/member.php?u=14825

It looks to me like you have a dove and I know she has raised a few.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hehe. Thanks....Is there some general information though that I could do for tonight? I would hate to wake up to a dead birdie in the morning.. :( I have put a light over the box, as well as a water bottle with warm water....the bulb is one of the energy efficient bulbs, and I'm not sure how much heat it actually emits...

Thanks again :p

·
Registered
13,047 Posts