Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, nebie here, I hope you are all well.

I am very new to the world of doves, just got two doves, fantailed I was told. I will post some pics soon.

I am hoping to have them free in my garden and was advised to keep them in for 6 weeks then release one, then went confident it is returning release the other, then both. Is this advice correct?

I have a couple of questions, is the general advice on here in regards to pigeons relevent to doves ie feeding etc.

Also just read this: http://www.dovepage.com/species/domestic/Ringneck/whiteringneck.html

That states that 'white' doves have no homing instincts, is this a separate breed? I know that white dove in dovecote do 'home' ?

I have had had my doves for two and a half weeks now and they are getting very used to me and will sit besides the me and 'coo' and not appear spooked when I sit and talk to them :)

Any advice appreciated :)

·
Administrator
9,478 Posts
Hi and welcome

If they are fantails, then they are a breed of pigeon as opposed to the doves shown on the web page you put the link to.

Fantails are not great fliers and won't have the degree of homing ability that white homers would have. But, depends somewhat how old these two are and if adults, whether they might attempt to home to their previous residence.

Pigeons (incl Fantails) usually eat a different mixture to domestic doves (maize, grains, peas and other specific legumes, seeds) although a dove mix would be OK to give them for a start.

Glad they are nor unfriendly or fearful :) Pigeons get used to people pretty fast, but many are wary all the same. Guess Fantails may be generally more placid (sure someone can tell you).

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3