Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been keeping pigeons for almost 2 years now and am still going strong, getting more and more birds. I recently visited a small town in Mexico close to Guadalajara where no one keeps pigeons even though I know many would really like them. I was telling them about my birds back home and pretty much all of them are familiar with homing pigeons, that is to say they know that some pigeons are good at homing from some distance, but they've never heard of racing pigeons or that people even race pigeons at all. Probably because this is a small town where everyone knows everybody and there is no access to the internet there, one must hitch a ride on the bus to the nearest town 20 minutes away(though there should be access soon). They've also never heard of all the fancy breeds we have or performers like the rollers and highflyers and such. I would like nothing more than to introduce birds there, I could bring some white racers, damscenes, rollers, and indian fantails, all of which would be very popular. I just have no idea how to go about transporting them legally. I believe a few of the big name racing pigeons breeders, such as the Ganus', export birds to mexico since there is a pretty extensive racing pigeon community down there after doing some research online and looking for breeders down there. It truly is a worldwide sport. I believe I could easily find racing pigeons down there in a city and bring them to the village, but I couldn't find any breeders of rollers and fancies, which is why I'm contemplating exporting, or exporting/importing, if I have to receive them on the other side.