Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So near my house there was a pigeons nest and a baby fell out and the was no way to put the pigeon back in so i decided to take him/her. I didnt know how long it had been lying there with no food/water. From what i can tell the pigeon is around 13 days.. there are still some bald spots on his back/under the wings and he still has the baby yellow feathers.

I have been feeding him soaked white bread , a boiled crushed yolk , and seed with water. What else can i feed him? Also how often? Ive been feeding him as often as i could .. every couple of hours...

Soon i start school (in a week) so how long does it take until he becomes independent? Starts flying? Mating?

Thank You !

I just need some information since im not very experienced with baby pigeons.

Btw i have 2 birds at home. You can check out their pictures on my profile!

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
You can give him defrosted and warmed corn and pies. You allready know how to feed, just give him 40~50 pieces per feed. You can feel his crop should be squashy not too full. 2~3 times a day is enough. White bread is not good for babies. Give him some wild bird seeds to peck and learn to eat. 20~25 days old youngsters should start pecking seeds. Arround 30 days they are weaned.

·
Registered
935 Posts
It will take more than a week for this one to be totally on its own....
Mating won't happen for 6-1year...a long ways off.

You will have to make sure that it can eat/drink on its own.. They use their beak like a straw to drink water...so a shallow dish. Food if it can eat on its own pigeon feed/mix is needed. For now offer defrosted peas and corn....if it does not eat them pry mouth out and one at a time pop them in. Formula (exact bird ) may be needed.... done the same way as the corn...don't shove the syring down its throat...just in mouth. Little bits at a time (1cc at a time).It might take longer, but it works.