Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I found a pigeon that needs urgent medical care. Could someone please guide me to a humane society that accepts birds in chicago, close to downtown?! I don't have a car, I am a student - I need something that is accessible by public transit.
The pigeon was sitting out in front of my door in cold, and it did not fly away when I picked it up. I brought it indoors, but it does not seem to be helping it at all. The bird can barely open one eye, it keeps falling down on one side (may be because of its eye) - I have no idea what to do. It could be severely dehydrated...All I know is that this bird needs attention as of yesterday.

Please help me out!!

Dia

·
Registered
911 Posts
Hi Dia.............Thanks for rescuing this injured bird. I'm sure there will be other members along shortely to assist you.

Do not take the bird to the humane society they will more than likely just put it to sleep.

First thing you need to do is get the bird warmed. If you have a heating pad, place it under a towell set on low and place the bird on top of the towell. Secondly the bird does need to be hydrated. You can try giving it some water from an eyedropper on the side of it's beak.....if the bird can drink on it's own it's water dish needs to be deep enough for the bird to suck up the water as it uses it's beak like a straw.

Do you see any aparant injury?.........any blood?

Sounds like the bird might have been hit by a car.

Is it possible for you to post a picture?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Louise,