Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I've found a pigeon egg - I've done a lot of googling this evening and I "candled" the egg and it appears to me as if it is still a viable embryo. I plan on trying to hatch it and raise to release.

I've never done this before. I am an animal lover.

I've set up a kind of make shift home incubation system (luckily I already had a heat lamp from my pygmy hedgehog - she isn't using it right now)

Unfortunately the temp only goes up to 95 degrees - and I know it needs to ideally be 99.5 - will 95 suffice?

I plan on turning the egg every 8 hours (roughly - I will be as close to it as life allows)

The set up is not in direct sunlight.

I'm going to use the next 18+ days to research what to actually do once the bird is hatched - any helpful links would be much appreciated.

I know this is a huge commitment but I have to try. It would plague me if I didn't.

-----I found the egg in my front garden in the moss, my first instinct was to return it to the nest but there isn't a nest in site-------

Thanks in advance! Any advice or tips will be gratefully received!

·
Registered
29,795 Posts
My advice is to put the egg back to where ever you got it. If it hasn't been incubated, then life hasn't started yet, and if it has, then the pigeons clearly had a nest where you found it. Raising a hatchling from day one is very difficult, and lots can go wrong. Usually the baby doesn't do well and it just suffers and dies anyway. Putting a living creature through all that is unnecessary, and unfair.