Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys.

I'm completely new to bird keeping (especially pigeons).

I've been looking for a pet bird (I was after a Princess Parrot) for quite some time, and last night I found this little guy (or girl ;D).

I was driving up my street when I passed him (we'll go with him), I swerved to avoid him and expected him to fly off, but nothing, so I picked him up and took him inside.

At the moment he is inside a large plastic storage container, with water bottles filled with hot water rolled in towels for warmth, and a dish for water.

I believe he has not had anything to drink or eat in quite some time, but he has energy, which I find weird.

I don't have access to any formula or seed at the moment, but hope to buy some later today, along with a syringe to feed him.

I have oats that have been soaked in hot water sitting in a dish for him, he sat and looked at them but didn't touch them (that I saw).

Any help would be great, I hope to maybe keep him as a companion.

Thanks, Jake.

Oh and a beginner question here but, what is "crop" ?

Attachments

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
The crop is right below the throat and when filled with food, it fills out like a little balloon.

If you think this is going to be your pet bird I suspect your heart will be broken. For the dove to be so docile, he's clearly ill. I don't know if you have a wildlife rehab near you but if so, I would get the dove there ASAP.
Where are you located in case we know of someone near you?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I live in South Australia, and I suspected that he might be ill too.

He can attempt to fly, but his right wing has a flight feather or two missing, so he kind of hovers for a bit and then drops.

He is defecating quite regularly, and they look healthy (from what I know, help here?)