Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all pigeon lovers!

I am just a newbie pigeon pet taker for about 6 months now. I have racing and fancy pigeons for a total of 16 pigeons. I live in the Philippines.

I would like to share my 6 months experience of taking care of pigeons.

STRICT HYGIENE MAINTENANCE OF YOUR LOFT IS A MUST!

Before, I am generally a lazy person in cleaning my Colony Loft. It will take 2 weeks before I would clean it, forgetting the fact that tropical countries are haven to bacteria, viruses, fungus and protozoa since the climate are warm and so they can easily spread out rapidly.

Until a disaster happened. Various diseases inhabited my loft. In just 2 weeks, I got 6 fatalities like these diseases put time bombs on my pets in which I scrambled targeting these diseases in which I failed to surpass countdowns to death. I managed to bring one sick pet of mine to a veterinary but even the vet couldn't identify the bacteria/virus or disease. It also died. This has frustrated me very much in which I almost gave up with this hobby of mine.

In researching the Internet, I learned how to maintain my loft. Cleaning the loft must be done daily. First thing to do is to scrape-off the poops from top to bottom using a construction scraper. Second step is to spray the surfaces that you have scraped-off the poops with including the perches and bird nests/boxes using a cleaning and disinfectant solution as follows:

-1 Gallon of water
-Antibacterial Detergent Powder, enough to make a foam.
-Bleach with enough mixture of almost odorless so as not to affect your pigeons but fatal to bacteria, viruses, protozoa and fungus.
-White Vinegar enough mixture that you can smell it with the detergent powder.

I recommend that you also spray on your pigeons' feet, too. Because it's their feet which first makes direct contact with infected surfaces unless the bacteria/virus is airborne.