Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone kindly tell me which breed is the biggest breed for pigeons? Some said Snow King, is it true?
Thanks

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
the heaviest or just look big...some may weigh more but do not look as big, but I would say a giant house pigeon or runts or king pigeons...:)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for your speedy response and effort in helping.

I've just checked out some pictures in Google about giant runts. They are really BIG! They are almost twice the size as some racers. Would that be the heaviest breed as well?

Indeed, it has been my little dream, or so called "porject" to breed the biggest & heaviest pigeons since I was little. I'm a college student whoes major in Biology in San Diego, California , obviously. If anyone would like to donate/contribute a few BIG BIRDS for this project, please let me know. Much appreicate.

·
Registered
4,808 Posts
Indian fantails are not the absolute biggest, but are also a very large pigeon breed. French Modaines are pretty large--at least mine is! and she's a female-, outweighing all my other pigeons by quite a margin.

·
Registered
21,207 Posts
I would say Runts and Hungarian Giant House Pigeons for here in the US. If you've got nothing else to do, get yourself to the Pageant Of Pigeons in San Bernardino this week .. you'll be able to see all these breeds yourself and possibly aquire some of them there. Just search on Pageant Of Pigeons, and you will find all the info.

Terry

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Runts can be over 3 pounds

They are said to be the heaviest. French Mondaines may be next and show kings somewhere near them. Hungarian giant house pigeons may look the largest as they have long loose feathers, large muffs and are crested. They are indeed very large pigeons. I used to think they were the largest but learned that runts are heavier.