Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I have two adolescent pigeons. One I am fairly sure is male, the other I dont know yet. The unknown one is very territorial and food possessive, but other than being a little aggressive, she (he?) has shown no real male behavior.

I think I saw mating behavior today but, since I am new to pigeons, I'm not sure. The definitely male bird (Ralph) was putting his beak over the other pij (Lilly)'s beak. Like a parent feeding their young. But this was done in a fairly aggressive way. Then Ralph started pecking the back of Lilly's head. I thought he was attacking her, it looked really mean, so I chased him away.
Was it a fight? Or mating? Is the head pecking a part of the mating procedure?

Thanks

ps. I KNOW Ralph is about 3 1/2 months old. I dont know how old Lilly is. I thought she was about the same age, but her eyes are much more orange. When I got her she was malnourished, so I may have misjudged her age. (and I have not seen a single egg yet).

·
Registered
46 Posts
the head pecking is called "driving" the male drives the female until she lays her first egg. this is very normal behavior and should not be stopped. unless you dont want them to be mated. but you will definitly know who is dad and who is mom, dad chases mom and pecks the back of her head.

·
Premium Member
25,396 Posts
If they are only 2 or 3 months old, they are merely playing and trying to act out their roles, as they are learning to interact with one another. You will see them play act the mating game, their place on the hiararchy, with the pecking game, and more.

Once they physically mature, at about 5 to 6 months, you will see some serious business. They really aren't emotionally mature to be parents until they are around a year old.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you so much! So it can really look that aggressive? That is so odd!
I love my little pigeons more every day. :)