Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi again. Sorry about more stupid questions, I'm still learning about birds. Echo still seems to be doing well, he is eating really well and his poop looks healthy. He has put on a bit more weight and is heading towards 400g (he was only about 250g when I found him)

He is however really aggressive, he pecks and pulls my skin a lot, he fans his tail out and coos at me and when I come home from work and go to speak to him he fluffs up his feathers and shudders for a few seconds. I read that this can be caused by excitement or fear but he doesn't seem to be scared of me as he will happily sit near me when I talk to him and he will come over to me just to peck at me.

I don't mind the biting if it is just him letting off steam but I don't want him to be unhappy.

Also what treats can I give him to eat? I have been offering him peanuts in his food a couple of times a week because he was very underweight so is there anything else healthy that pigeons really like to eat?

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
5,421 Posts
He is viewing you as the intruder in his space, that's why he is attacking you. All normal behaviour. It really hurts when they get hold of your ears. Happens to me all the time.

They also love hemp and safflower seeds. You can also offer some greenery like spinach. My pigeons love it.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your reply, I'm glad it is normal behaviour.

I have been giving him greens but I will get some safflower seeds for him too. If I am quiet he will eat out of my hand, so if I offer him something really nice maybe he will learn to trust me a bit more.

This morning he came over to the door when I fed him and seemed happy to stay there when I was talking to him, I just feel bad that he is now my pet when he used to be wild. He also slaps me with his wings sometimes (even the injured one) if he feels like it.