Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I got my birds a few weeks ago they were on the thin side since then IO have been feeding them twice a day a mixture of turkey feed and seed with the occasional treat of peas. All but one of the birds have thrived and are looking great. I went away for a week and my sister has been caring for them when I returned this morning I noticed one of my birds is very skinny when I held it I was shocked at the fact that it felt so lite and that its chest bone stuck out. I thought that perhaps its friends were being bullies and keeping it from the food dish so I seperated it and put it with a bowl of food and it just picked at it for a second maybe ate two or three pieces and walked away and wasn't interested. I don't know what to do I am new to pigeons and I am scared for my bird. It let me pick it up which is strange because usually it flys around like crazy and make sme chase it and then when I was holding it it just sat there on one hand and didn't move I am worried its going to die please help. I can't really afford to bring it to the vet right now but I will if necessary

·
Registered
12,522 Posts
I ask because given the circumstances, it might be possible for you to connect with Cricket for medications and treatment:

http://www.pigeons.biz/forums/member.php?u=5077

...since she's in your area.

It could be worms, coccidiosis, canker (probably unseen but have you looked inside the beak for yellow cheesy buttons?) or some other infection. That said, it sounds like the bird's gone "anorectic" (which they do a lot when they're really sick) and will need supplemental heat and even forced feedings, besides medications.

Pidgey

·
Guardian Angel
6,859 Posts
It's good that the bird is isolated, add a heating pad on low or a heat lamp
to this bird's set up and hand feed the bird. You can soak puppy chow,
and hand feed this to the bird, you can also do the bird burrito if necessary.