Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It is a roller pigeon that was about 6weeks old August 2012 . We noticed tonight that he had poop on his wing and that he ran not flew away when approached. Then we realized he does not seem injured or unalert and wants to fly up with the others but flaps his wings with not enough power to fly. He has chick grit and I have corn for warmth to eat. I have a 5gallon container of water atall times and an inside loft. The feed is for wild birds from rural king and lowes. I don't have a place to buy pigeon food. I have been worried about that for awhile. The y seem to have gradually had poop that is more clear and a little bit runnier than when I first got them but I am a beginner and can use any advice anyone can give. Thanks in advance for aloof your time and concern to help me.

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
It could be lots of things.
But the runny poop tells me to send him to a vet for a poop test. It deserves it since he is your daughter's favorite.
Any mice can get in the loft?
Give him a physical exam first. Are wings joints swollen? Compare by checking both wings in same time. Just put him on your lap, upside down and cover his face with a towel.

Do you also provide with grit and vitamins.
Is he drinking more water than usual? I would separate him from the other pigeons and monitor his water intake, feeding , poops.

·
Registered
29,795 Posts
You really need to bring him inside where it is warm. In a cage with paper towels down on the floor of the cage. That way you can monitor his droppings, and watch for how much he is eating and drinking. Have you checked down his throat for canker? Any yellowish nodules down there? You need to look way down the throat with a flashlight.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4