Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My pigeons don't fly around ..sit around.. NEED HELP

Hey I have started keeping pigeons recently. I have got about 12 birds in a good sized coop and they are now used to the area as it has been a while. I have been letting them loose for a good 2 months now but the problem is they won't fly around. They go right onto the roof of my house and sit there all day long. They may fly for a few minutes once every few hours maybe because of a crow startling them but thats it.

Any tips on what I could do?, they are highfliers and I believe a few tipplers as well. Most of them are over a year old and some are young which were born in the loft.

My goal is to be able to watch them fly around and enjoy them.

Any info and steps on what to do will be of great help as I am new to the hobby.

Thanks

·
Registered
410 Posts
I'm sure someone that's involved in pigeon sports can give you some actual advice, but if you watch wild pigeons, the don't fly around all that much, especially not unnecessarily. They'll travel for food and nesting areas, but they spend a lot of time standing around. If your birds have all their needs right there, they don't really have a reason to fly.

I don't let my birds out to fly, but they're still fun to watch just foraging and interacting with each other.

·
Registered
463 Posts
I would try to keep them off the roof throw a ball at them, ice cubes they melt anything to keep them off the roof the only place they should land is on your loft. It may be harder to do now because they have gotten used to it. If they know the area now have you tried flagging them up? The birds should really want to fly. Are you giving them open loft that can also be the problem. I do not have any high flyers but my birds are let out once a day and they love to fly. When they are done flying they go right in to feed they are never fed before they are let out. Hope this makes some sense.