Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bonjour fellow pigeon admirers. I am fairly new to the pigeon hobby. My current loft is a chicken coop. Needless to say it isn't working the greatest since it is stocked with quail cages and large roosts for my Giant Cochins I used to own. I am building an 8x4 loft and want ideas and advice. And I apologize in advance, I am unfamiliar with pigeon terminology at the moment.

Loft size: 8x4.
Door size (human): 5'x2' on the front 4' side.
Aviary Cage Thingy: 2' high x 8' long 4' off the ground.

Nest boxes were going to be on the wall beside the door. I am unsure of the size they need to be. I figured 2' wide and 1' high. Probably 6 of them stacked on top of each other.

Roosts I am completely unsure of. Do I need them to be stacked on top of each other or can I do one long 2x4, 1x4 or something across the width of the coop? I've seen people use 2x4's cut about 4" long but it seems the birds below would need a little cleaning.

What else is neccessary for the pigeons. Right now they are in an 8x8 and my chickens are in a tractor (portable coop) so the quicker I can move the pigeons, the better Currently I have 3 oriental rollers and getting more. How many can this coop hold.

-Leah

·
Registered
29,797 Posts