Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Am a small mammal rehabber over here on the north East Coast. I do not work with pigeons although I have saved a few and other birds in the past. I am not an expert on them though and would appreciate some help. A few people on another board suggested I come here. I'll try to make this short and sweet.
Pigeons have taken over my yard and shed. There is massive amounts of feces everywhere. It is not livable and I cannot enjoy the space or let my dogs out with out them tracking in poo and getting it all in their fur or in the house. There is poo on everything from the BBQ to the fence to the swing set to the ground back there and more. If it weren't so much I would try to tolerate it but I just cannot tolerate this. I am not a mean person, I love ALL animals. I have even given them bread on the extra cold and snowy days here. My dogs are super animal friendly and do not chase. They were trained this way because I do wildlife. The next door dog is so used to them he could care less and the birds are used to dogs and people since its just city life over here. They won't let you touch them but do not fly unless you try to grab them. They are not homing or racing pigeons.
I will wait until it gets warmer out before chasing them out since they have shelter here but once it gets warm they have to go. Its not healthy like this or livable. I need some advice on how to keep them out of the yard, shed, or possibly relocating them.
Also there is one Pigeon who regardless of where the others go , sleep, what they do , is always on his own and always sleeps in the same spot. He is not injured that I can see, can fly, and leaves occasionally, but just wondering if thats normal and if I need to keep an eye on him or anything. I do actually care...