Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so I just found this guy he can fly for a foot or two and he can flap his wings but he can’t fly like take flight if that makes sense? I’m new to birds so I don’t know what to call it. But yeah so I think his wings were clipped and he was someones pet maybe got released I’m not sure. He goes and sits on shoulders and I’ve had him for a while now but he seems to want to be in the wild but I’m not sure i think he wouldn’t be safe. Also if you have any tips on feed, and also how to make him perch on finger, cause I can never get him off me lol. Any and all tips and advice is appreciated !

·
Registered
4,187 Posts
Sounds as if he is very tame, not normal for a wild pigeon to sit on your shoulders. You can give him a variety of seeds to eat. A dove or wildbirdseed mixture will be fine. They also love hemp and safflower seeds. They need grit in a seperate bowl for digestion and minerals. Fresh clean water every day. You can put apple cider vinegar in the drinking water twice a week. 5 ml acv to 1 litre of water. Helps with digestion and keeping the good gut bacteria in place. Vitamins, esp calcium with added Vit D3 if he does not have direct exposure to sunlight. For greenery you can give spinach.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Can you show us a picture of him? and if you can a picture of his outstretched wing?
my pigeons will perch on my finger/hand if I gently put just their toes on my finger/hand (they walk the rest of the way on.)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Can you show us a picture of him? and if you can a picture of his outstretched wing?
my pigeons will perch on my finger/hand if I gently put just their toes on my finger/hand (they walk the rest of the way on.)