Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
How's it going people. I'm pretty new at this, and really need help at breeding pigeons. I really don't know where to start, so if you guys can help me out i'd appreciate it :). Last week my dad bought 4 pigeons and told us that he used to breed them when he was a child. He's 40 now and work most of the time, so he really doesn't have time to take care of them. He built a cage, a pretty big crappy cage (to be honest with you), and just put them in there. The 4 are adult pigeons. One of them is a homer pigeon, and a couple racing pigeons. We also recently bought 2 baby ones. The homer seems to be bossing everyone around. I want to take them out the cage but I feel like they won't come back to us. So I really don't want to do taht just yet 'til I really know what to do. Also, the guy who sold us the adult pigeon told us most of the time the pigeons they have sold always go back to them. I'm thinking of having a carpenter build a small pigeon loft/coop but I am not too sure how big. We're only renting a house, so I cant build it too big. If you guys have blue prints in building a simple one I'd appreciate it! i'll try my best to build it. Any suggestions in how big I should build it for atleast 10 pigeons? Something real simple and comfortable for them to live in. I don't think the cage my dad built is really good for them. He grew up in the Philippines, so things were a lot different back there. I really want to get into this, but I seriously don't know where to start. Please help! thanks

·
Registered
373 Posts
Alright ill try to help you first of all dont let the birds fly of they have been flown somewhere else they wont come back since they are homers/racing pigeons(same kind of breed) and for the breeding part put some nesting material in the coop and put a bowl of some kind and just wait and watch:)

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·