Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody!

1st time posting, Apologies that its asking for advice with a health issue! :(

Im an animal care technician at Bangor Uni in Wales, I have had an aging group of homing pigeons (used for flight physiology research, giving "backpacks" with accelerometers and GPS etc. nothing sinister, I love my pigeons!) for 3 years now, and i am the sole carer. Its been a steep learning curve but I seem to have hit the nail on the head so far.
However inheriting a fairly healthy and stable group of birds, I have not had too many health problems to deal with (injuries, worms, minor stomach upsets).

I have just received a new group of young (a few still had the "billy idol" yellow feathers on thier heads) birds from a reputable supplier, the birds seemed in good condition when they came in (they are separated from the old group but still in the same loft, I have biosecurity measures (dedicated cleaning/feeding kit for each group, changing overshoes/coveralls/gloves, birds physically separated by loft doors sealed as best as possible) to help prevent spread of disease between groups. The birds have apparently had "a full range of vaccinations"

I was expecting a certain amount of teething trouble/stress/illness when they came in, and i have not been disappointed.

Some of the birds started fluffing up and pointing the tail downwards, their faeces was generally very wet and they were eating a bit less than normal and drinking a lot.
I tried ACV (20ml/2l for 2 days) and followed with a probiotic treatment on the seed (Bamfords super young bird and breed and wean mixed, since some birds showed preference at first for smaller seeds in the breed and wean).
This made very little difference so I tried a levamisole (harkerverm) treatment.
This has improved the faecal condition merkedly in most of the group (I am performing identical treatments on the old flock).