Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to the wonderful world of racing pigeons. Well, long story but we received a Blue Bar race pigeon a few weeks ago, tracked down his owner who has no interest in wanting him back. Philosophy was "he couldn't make it home 250 miles, I don't need a bird like that in my loft." So, we kept him.

Now, we live in Northern Nevada, don't get an abundance of rain or snow, and humidity level is rarely over 50% and that's while it is raining, but winter does get down to 0-20 degrees. We have built a 8 x 8 x 8 fully wired pen, with perches, one side backed up to a solid wood fence. But winter is slowly going to approach and he and his future family will need a house. We have already made arrangements to get him a "lady friend", and would like to end up with 6-10 birds total. These will be for our own enjoyment, not for professional racing.
Our plan is to construct a 6 X 6 Lean-To style shed on the south side of the wire enclosure, with a cut out on the north end to go directly into the wire pen, offering free access to come & go in & out. Inside the lean-to shed, I plan on using one wall for nest boxes and the other for 6-10 perches(depending on how many birds). On the south end will be the "human" access door. In tall part on the end sides, there will be 2" vent holes covered in screen for air flow. Considering some sort of window on front sid ethat can be opened in summer for additional ventilation. So to sum it up they will have a 6 x 6 shed and attached 8 x 8 flying area.

So here are my questions:
Is this a sufficient plan?
Is it fine that they can come & go as they please from the shed to wired area?
How big should the opening be and how far off the ground, to go from shed to enclosure?
Is the 2" vent holes sufficient for air flow?