Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everybody,

I have little experience and a small flock (7 birds if we include a 'runt' which I'm raising by hand) from a pair I bought some time ago.
I have them to eat (and 3 to sleep) in just a large wire cage which I keep open for much of the day; sometimes I close it in the afternoon and let them in in the evening to eat and see that everybody came back.
Hand-raising the injured orphan turns out to be quite labour-intensive thank god I'm down to two feedings a day and the bird is growing with the neck and head feathers coming in already ( Jass and shorty2 were gracious enough to advise me with him).
So why am I doing all this work?
It must be because I love the sight of them flying out, doing a lap of honor before taking off (they are all completely white!). When I am lucky enough to see them coming back I count their heads like a commander of a RAF squadron to make sure everybody is accounted for. Both sights are majestic and make my heart beat faster.

How do guys know which bird is which? Do you have different color bands(I have yet to find a place where I can get a hold of some)?
Or do you have different cubicles in the loft where they always go? Or do you not know them apart?
More questions about a proper loft ( where to get one or if it's DIY time - right now not realistic-) etc. later
saludos
flaco

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
seems as the proper loft, should of came before the birds?

for all white birds banding them with color snap on bands with a number on it can help you with which pairs are together and which young is theirs if you write it down. any pigeon supply sells these bands. Im sure once you do a search online for pigeon supply there will be more important things you may want for your pigeons when you get to looking at the products offerd.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
seems as the proper loft, should of came before the birds?