Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody, I am new to Pigeons and am planing on buying 4 homer pigeons I am a little bit worried though that the pigeons are to old? the breeder says they are 4-7 weeks old does this mean they will try and fly back to the breeder ? also any tips on how long to keep in loft before first flight etc?

Thanks.

·
Registered
11,455 Posts
Hopefully they haven't actually flown outside their previous loft.
Depending on that and how far away their last home was, it may take a little longer to settle. Regardless, I think you'll be fine. Just keep them locked up for 3-4 weeks before letting them out. That'll give them plenty of time to get settled in and used to their new loft and flock mates. Also they'll get used to any kind feeding schedule during that time.
If you can, it will help to get a settling cage and a trap door. We use bob traps, which they have to push through the bobs to enter the loft. Once in, they can't get out because the bobs are too long and catch the inside wall of the loft. A settling cage is basically just a wire box that can fit snug up against the front of the building. By getting them all out into the settling cage, they can look around and memorize their surroundings without flying away or getting hit by predators. Then you can throw some food down and call them to it. They'll learn quickly how to work the trap door to get in and eat. This is called trap training, and makes having homing pigeons (or any pigeon breeds) a lot easier. You don't want them out when you're not there or hawks may come around. So to solve that, let them fly hungry, then once you have to leave or go inside, call them in to some food and there ya go, inside safe and sound.