Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

Im Rachael. I live in Jacksonville Florida.

I came to these forums in search of good information (which I am finding).
Im a veterinary technician that works at a hospital that does exotic animals and takes in wildlife.

Ive helped raise numerous (and I mean numerous) baby doves, and we get the occasional racing pigeon through. Most are relocated back to their owners, or theyre too badly injured :(

We have one now with a healed broken wing, but he cannot fly anymore. The owner said the bird was no good to him now and to dispose of it however we wanted.
However, Ive come to like this bird a lot. He has a great personality and is perfectly healthy other than his inability to fly.

Im trying to convince the husband now to let me adopt him. Otherwise he gets euthanized =(

Im trying to gather what kind of housing I would need for a single pigeon that cannot fly. A lot of good suggestions on this site.

Thats about it. I just wanted to come on and introduce myself.

·
Registered
55 Posts
wow, i cant believe that a vet would put to sleep a healthy, although crippled, animal!
I know plenty of 3 legged dogs and cats that would object.

Pigeons are wonderful and a ton of fun. Im glad that you decided to rescue the pij! Does he have a name?

Im trying to find the perfect cage for my pigeons. From what I understand wider is better. And be careful - I bought what I thought was the perfect cage for my pij, but it has these fancy swirly bars, and he got his toe caught in the bars! He cut his toe pretty badly.

So, you want something at least 24" x 24" and prob 30" height is good. wider is more important than tall. Pigeons dont climb much, like parrots do. He, basically, just needs to be able to flap his wings. And then he needs outside of the cage time. Our pigeons spend most of the day in our bathroom - to the dismay of my husband. lol.