Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Just joined your group. I'm fairly new to the pigeon "hobbie", if that is the correct term. I live in northern New York State and have had several flocks of homers with varying success. Never raced, just kept them as pets (again, if that is the correct term) and like to watch them fly around the place. First flock was great - flew and homed well, in a tight group and had few health problems. Second flock did not last long once weasels found their way into my loft. The third, I swear were retarded or something - did not fly well, some just coasted to the ground, those that did fly scattered and did not group. They also did not reproduce well - young did not thrive and parents did not seem to "parent" well. Just took delivery on 20 pure white homers and hoping for better results.

My loft is of my own design - 8 X 10 plywood divided, 2/3 for my wife's laying hens and 1/3 for my pigeons. Has a sun porch and bob entry at pigeon end facing southeast. I installed nesting boxes and perches and currently feeding Game and Trukey Feed from Agway....Pigeon Feed has been ordered.

One of these new pigeons appears distressed - sits alone with one eye closed and beak open as if its panting...but is not. Comments or Suggestions?

Looking forward to picking your brains as I have interest in eventually racing.

Mike

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
Hello all,