Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am new to pigeons and new to this site. I'm excited to have finally figured out how to start a new thread! Lol. Ok back to my question: When and how should we release the birds for the first time? They are West of England Tumblers, the pair is about 4 years old and they have a baby who is now around 6 months old. (According to what the man told me who sold them to us) they have a nest and eggs that I expect to hatch this week. ( today is about day 16-17 since the eggs were laid.) the man told me to wait about 4-6 weeks to let them out. It's been about 6 weeks now. But I am so scared something will happen to them or they will fly away. The parents, I know take turns on the nest so they won't leave together. Should I keep them up until the eggs are hatch Ed or until the baby birds are weaned? (How long does it take for baby WOE's to wean, by the way?) when they do fly, will I just leave the cage door open and they will come back on their own? I apologize for all here questions, but I am somewhat clueless here and the person I bought them from hasn't returned my txt. I don't want to txt again and annoy him. Also, any and all info of any kind or advice would be greatly GREATLY appreciated.

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Hi,
Thanks for figuring out to start a new thread and writing to us :)
Never let them open when they are on eggs or raising babies because if anything happens to one of them or to both, the eggs or babies will suffer. Let the babies wean first, almost at 3 weeks they start weaning and at 4 weeks usually they are fully weaned, then you can let the parents open. In starting for around half an hour and increase the time gradually when they start returning back to their loft. Usually they can be released after 4-6 weeks, they won't fly away but you will have to monitor them. Feed from your hand so they recognise you. Do they have access to outside from inside the loft?

·