Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello eveyone,
I am a newbie in racing/homing pigeon, i just got my loft built and now it's time to get some birds. My question is where should i go get some good birds, i am planning to get a young bird kit so that i can fly them. I am not racing right now since i don't have much time for it. What is your advise?

·
Premium Member
25,396 Posts
Hello and Welcome to Pigeon Talk,

Where are you located? I would first contact your local homing pigeon club and see what they might have to offer.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Check local internet sites for pigeons clubs and breeders. DO NOT buy any birds sight unseen unless you know you can trust the breeder (See the thread about Mojave Breeding Station and Pigeons4sale.com).
Also, please remember, a pedigree is only as good as the paper it is written on, unless you know the breeder personally or he/she is recommended by someone you trust.
Price does not equal quality. If you want quality, you have to build it. If you have bought it, you have to maintain it.
I bought a bunch of scrub homers from a guy who raises them for food. I have been working with these birds for awhile and have got my training releases up to 10 miles from home. Most of them usually beat me home now (OK, I do dawdle a little bit on the way home) and they are used in the breeding program.
If you came to me for racing pigeons, I would not sell you any because my birds are homing pigeons (At least the ones that made it home are :) ) not racers. But you will find a lot of guys/gals have an ego and will be unable to admit the difference.
I stress, find someone who raises what you want, talk to them, either buy birds from them, or fro someone they recommend.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·