Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got about 30 mixed homing pigeons from someone. He never flew them and knows nothing about the breed. All are adult birds except for two small birds who are feathered out but can't fly yet. Don't know how old they are.

I want to build a loft, and raise and keep about 10 birds that I can fly and have return to my home. I assume that these two young birds are young enough to train to home back to my loft? I would like to raise about 7 more and then get rid of the older prisoner birds. Maybe if I can figure out a few pairs of older birds also keep them. Once birds pair up as mates will they accept new mates if separated?

What should I do to train these birds to home yo my loft? When should I start? I am a complete novice and know nothing about this. Sorry if I'm asking stupid questions.

·
Registered
4,089 Posts
Hello and welcome...more information would help.

1) Where are you located ?

2) You say you wanna build a loft...where are they housed now ?

3) So are you saying that the adults have always been in a closed loft situation ?

4) Have you investigated any Pigeon Clubs near you ?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Hello and welcome...more information would help.

1) Where are you located ?

2) You say you wanna build a loft...where are they housed now ?

3) So are you saying that the adults have always been in a closed loft situation ?

4) Have you investigated any Pigeon Clubs near you ?
I am located in KY.

I currently have them in a pen that I built. It's 8ft long, 3ft wide, and 5ft tall. I had to build something quick to put them in.

I have two young birds that can't fly yet. But the rest are adult birds that haven't been flown as far as I know.

I haven't checked into any clubs. Only got the birds this Monday.