Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I put my cocks and hens in breeder boxes, the cocks spent 3 hours or so doing the biting or pulling behind the hen neck, all pairs are getting along fine. Being this is my first try at this how long is the average time to start seeing eggs from day one placing them together. Thanks for the help Ashley

·
Registered
2,528 Posts
Welcome to the hobby :) The pigeons have to pair up and start mating.

Once they start mating you can expect eggs soon. The cock will drive the hen to the box and start building nest if nesting materials are available

You should give some time for the pairs to settle and mingle. Some cocks can be very bully and hurt the hen if placed together in the box

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
I put my cocks and hens in breeder boxes, the cocks spent 3 hours or so doing the biting or pulling behind the hen neck, all pairs are getting along fine. Being this is my first try at this how long is the average time to start seeing eggs from day one placing them together. Thanks for the help Ashley
just because you lock them up together does not always mean a match is made. when you see a pair mating and building a nest, the eggs are usually about another 8 to 10 days off. I hope the cock birds are not bullying your hens any longer, how miserable for them.

·
Registered
820 Posts
Hey :)