Pigeon-Talk banner

Painting or staining the interior

4K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  mahendra 
#1 ·
Hello all. This is my first year getting into raising/racing pigeons. I'm building a 24x12 loft for my first one if the snow ever stops flying here in NY.:) What's the safest way for the birds without getting them sick? I am wanting to finish the interior with paint and also my floor grates. Can I also put a coat of something on the perches? I'm looking for longevity and thought maybe it would help with cleaning if the wood isn't raw. I am looking forward to the responses.
Thanks in advance.
Mike

#4 ·
I painted my loft inside and out with interior / exterior paint . However , after I completed my loft I've read about liquid resistant paint . Therefore, I think that would make it a lot less work cleaning . After breeding is over for me I will clean out my loft and paint it with a waterproof coating paint . I think there is more than one brand out there .

NeverWet | Super Hydrophobic Products | Waterproof Coating

www.neverwet.com/

1.Cached
2.Similar

Any object coated with our NeverWet® coating literally cannot be touched by liquid. Any liquid placed on this coating is repelled and simply rolls off without ...

Well best of luck to you ,

Frank

#6 ·
Thanks Meep ,

Before I paint my coop I'll look into the elastomeric roof paint/coating and other liquid resistant paints . According to the manufacture , a product called Ultra- Ever Dry repels water, some oils ... and other liquids . San Francisco has painted some walls with it to stop public urination and the cost of clean up . Now Philadelphia is trying it out too . Not sure , but I think with the Ultra- Ever Dry paint .You wouldn't even see the pigeon dirt on the wall or grated floor once painted .

Thanks again,

Frank

#7 · (Edited)