Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am fairly new to the wonderful world of pigeon keeping and trying my best however I am finding I am having some issues with dominance between my 2 males.

I started off with 2 "females" one of which turned out to be a very male female ::confused: so overnight I went from 2 birds to 4 and well to cut a long story short I now I have 7 birds 2 males that I have identified with 100% certainty

The 2 males I have are of different bloodlines and not related in anyway

I have recently upgraded their accomodation from A small converted chicken coop to a sentry box style loft, I have attached pictured of the new loft for reference as its hard to describe.

I still have the old nest area of the old loft in the enclosure at the moment as I have a pair who have nested on the floor and are currently nursing babies so didn't want to disturb them too much however this seems to have caused a bit of a territory dispute.

Male 1 (Bindi) who is my first male and the one who is a proven sire and is in the old loft with his mate and babies

Male 2 (Dozzer) is an older male without a mate seems to have taken it upon himself to stake claim to the new loft and won't let Bindi in. He sits in the door way cooing and chasing Bindi away. He allows my 2 young girls in there with him but does nothing but chase Bindi.

Now I was optimistic that they would all play happy famillies in the new loft but it is not looking that way. How do I combat this because having both lofts in the enclosure is taking up a lot of their space to fly and do what pigeons do.

If I remove the old loft will they eventually all go into the new loft or am I going to have to build another loft?

Is it possible for 2 males to live together in one loft?

·
Registered
732 Posts