Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am a new user but I have been using this site for a few months now.
And since I've seen so many others get quick effective help I decided to make my own account and join this online community.
Now lets get to my pigeons.
I have a male pigeon named Romeo who has been having many different types of poops during the last 2 months. Now however it has become worse since a horrible smell has emerged from the droppings starting almost 3 weeks ago. I have also noticed that since the smell has emerged the eggs his mate has been laying are infertile. I have no idea what he has but I think it might be from either cocci, vitamin d deficiency, liver problems, pancreas problems, bacterial infection, or maybe just a really up set stomach. I think it could be from the last one since i buy the pigeon feed per kilo from feed bins that are left in the open so maybe they are dirty but they look and smell clean. Anyway here are two photos of two different types of poop he did recently. The liquidity one is from a 3 days ago and the bubbly one is from 1 hour ago both photos were taken right after he did it. Sorry in advance they look gross :eek:
20160914_011255.jpg

20160917_164958.jpg

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Guys I really need help quick on the infertile eggs problem. Now is the 19th day so the parents will abandon them soon and make a another batch which i fear will be infertile like the last five eggs :(
I have many more questions about many different subjects but this is the most pressing issue now. PLEASE ANWSER!

·
Registered
29,797 Posts
If you haven't, I would treat the birds for Cocci.
Of course you can't be sure without a vet checking the droppings, but if that isn't possible, then I would treat for that first. All your birds.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you haven't, I would treat the birds for Cocci.