Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a pigeon that flew up on the job site he wouldn t leave so i took him home ithought he was a he untill he laid a egg so i guess he is a she so what do i do .she is setting on it so how does this egg thing work. how does the male thing work. i am new to the pigeon thing .any help out there . i feel sorry for her if nothing is going to happen. thanks

·
Registered
46 Posts
Frist are you going to keep the bird in your home where it is warm?
If the bird had a mate than chances are the egg will be fertile and hatch if you let her set on it for 18 days, she will properly lay a 2nd egg in 2 days, that egg will not be fertile but you can either leave it in with her or take it out, she will care for the 1st egg until hatched, if left alone and not disturbed. at 5 days hold the egg up to a light and see if there is any blood lines in it, if so the egg is good, put it back under the hen. If it is clear than the egg is no good and you can though it out. congratulations you might be a parent.

·
Registered
857 Posts
If she had a mate the 2nd egg should also be fertile. Pigeon hens like most birds have sperm host glands that can keep sperm alive and viable for quite a while after they are deposited.
Keith

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
I have a pigeon that flew up on the job site he wouldn t leave so i took him home ithought he was a he untill he laid a egg so i guess he is a she so what do i do .she is setting on it so how does this egg thing work. how does the male thing work. i am new to the pigeon thing .any help out there . i feel sorry for her if nothing is going to happen. thanks