Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all, found a young pigeon behind my apts. looks like it was attacked by an animal I'm guessing. Head was scabbed over, one eye also scabbed, huddled by wall. I came back down after an hour, with a box and took him upstairs as it was a very hot day. After reading some posts here, I have a little heater (sock w rice), have given it water, seems more alert. Tried to feed him some corn, but won't eat yet. Do notice possible mites. Local vets won't treat any birds. Any advice? He seems like he is responding to time out of the heat and some care, but I have no experience with birds. He has started flapping wings and stretching. Head is the worst part that I can see. Dabbed on some Neosporin. It was not an open wound but looks like skull may be slightly exposed, but scabbed over and possibly healing.
Any local recommendations? Thanks!

·
Registered
1,967 Posts
Sure, could you post a pic so we have an idea of age of bird. Put some wild bird seed or pigeon or dove feed out and a small bowl of warm sugar water. If he is too young and not eating on his own, you will have to feed a few times a day manually minimally. I think if you search this site, there are some links to either hand feed or how to feed a pigeon that wont eat, I think one of mine may still be on youtube as well. The fav here is to feed thawed warmed frozen peas and corn right into the back of the beak one at a time. About 30 per feeding altogether. If he spits them out, you are not putting far enough back in the mouth. Its rather easy. Is there any way a moderator can make a sticky or a permanent feeding thread so we are not repeating ourselves every single day with the same Q&A. Something a newbie can find instantly so when we are not on the same time zone or page that they can find that easily and quickly? Im sure many of us could contribute different short videos of how to feed at different life stages.

·