Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to pass on this very important Pigeon Genetics Project message, which I recieved from my good friend, Steven van Breemen, from Winning Magazine.

Dear readers of Winning Magazine,

Winning Magazine has been approached to send the below information to its readers worldwide in order to find as many pigeon fanciers as possible to cooperate in this very important project for our sport. Please feel free to pass this email on to all your pigeon friends.

Best regards,

Steven van Breemen.

Below the email from Elissa:

I am an undergraduate researcher in Dr. Michael Shapiro's lab. I am currently working on a project to to study genetic variation in pigeons using modern, DNA-based techniques. We have received crucial assistance from Kyle Christensen (president) and members of the UtahPigeon Club. I am hoping that you and the members of your club might be able to help us as well.We are soliciting donations of feathers from as many different pigeon breeds as possible so that we can establish a large sample database for DNA analysis. Our initial analysis will give us new information about which breeds are most closely related to each other genetically, and potentially give us valuable information about the origins of breeds whose histories are not well understood. The next step in this project will be to track down the DNA-level changes that are responsible for variability in different traits (for example, color, beak size, feather pattern, crop size, rolling/tumbling, etc.). This is a long-term project, and the DNA database is a vital early step in its success.