Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
I am trying to pair up a cock trumpeter with a fantail hen, hoping I can get a trumpeter with fantail. Any genetic gurus in d house to explain if tht can be possible or it is d other way round. I once pair a white trumpeter hen wit a blue homing n I got pair of blue trumpeters.
And Hey what it is with Giant Runts!! It's my first time dealing with them. They keep laying single giant egg for me. That's frustration waiting 3weeks for a single egg to hatch. Anyone had this experience with Runts?
And one of my Fantail hen is always in the her slot for like a week now like she's laying on an egg, she n d cock make a nest like 10days ago. She only come out to rush food and water n go back quickly. What seems to be the problem. Lol, Is she hatching an egg inside her or what, or She have an imaginary eggs or what?
Sorry, for the whole 3 questions at once. Just choose d one u can answer if u can't answer all. Thank u.

·
Registered
4,629 Posts
The offsprings of fantail+trumpeter won't fan their tails like their mother but will do the neck shaking(I don't know what subbreed ur fantail is). They could have feather socks(feathers at feet) but not as impressive as their father.

The hen after laying first egg don't incubate it usually but sit on it to protect it from other pigeons to trample it. Your hen going back immediately is natural,don't worry.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Okay, So how do u think I can pair to produce Trumpeter/Fantail?. And I guess u mixed up d second question with d third. The issue of single egg hen is different from d imaginary egg hen. The single egg is a Runt hen, while d imaginary egg hen is Fantail. The imaginary case don't have any egg in d nest she just look n feel like she have eggs.

·
Registered
745 Posts