Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to pigeons. I bought two adult pairs. One pair shakes their head a lot and will lift up one foot and shake it. That is the white and brown pair. the other dark pair shakes their heads some. Mites? or possible a known behavior?

·
Registered
6,527 Posts
Our squeaker always shakes his wings at me when he first sees me. He also stands on one foot. Vet said he is fine, but we treated him for having coccidia, although a low level per the vet. Think it is probably behavioral.

·
Registered
317 Posts
What breed are your birds?Some breeds naturaly shake thers heads.I've owned a couple of breeds myself .Zitterhalls some of the little fantails and so on.

·
Registered
297 Posts
You should be able to see mites/lice on the bird. That would be my guess. Mites are almost microscopic, but you can see them. Lice are easy to see.

Terry
I know there are some feather mites that burrow in the feather shaft, so that is one kind of mite you can't see. you can treat it with ivermectin. oral administration is best. but yeah, most of the time other parasites are easy to spot and get rid of.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I am brand new to pigeons. I bought two adult pairs. One pair shakes their head a lot and will lift up one foot and shake it. That is the white and brown pair. the other dark pair shakes their heads some. Mites? or possible a known behavior?