Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year flying Pigeons and i'm hoping to race next year,
I currently have 30 birds flying for a good 40 minutes to an hour every morning. I originally thought that this was great and that I might be a little competitive next year when it comes to racing.

About 1km down the road there is a flyer who's birds are flying about the same time as mine, recently I have watch his birds fly and there is no comparison to mine they go from left to right north to south east west like crazy, watched his birds fly over the top of my house and these birds are supercharged;ranging and routing like crazy, my birds rout also but nothing like the birds down the road. His birds fly cause they want to fly where as mine seem to be having a casual Sunday fly with not a lot of stamina.

I was watching both my birds and my neighbour's birds flying the other morning and noticed how my birds don't have the energy that the neighbour's birds have and some of my birds kind of glide in the air rather than fly full steam ahead from left to right.

I believe I am feeding my birds correctly
30% peas
25% corn
(25% race mix wheat/milo/millet/peas/sunflower)
10% trapping mix (Canary type seeds)
5% barley
5% rabbit pallets

Any idea what this flyer is doing that I might not be doing?
How do I get my birds pumped like the guys down the road cause if i'm up against this guy I have no hope in hell come race season.

·
Registered
4,846 Posts
I think it all comes down to feed and health, the peas are protein and that's good for babies but not so much for racing. You should go to the guy down the road and see what he feeds or just give them a high energy race mix for a couple weeks and see if they fly harder.
Dave

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
He may be flying sprint or short distance birds. For long distance you want the birds to do what yours are doing. They can stroll 600 miles. His will burn out at about 1/3 that.