Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
My Lucky does that sound to call me. It seems to only be a single long Voo when I am not in the same room as him. My guests are the ones who say he must be calling me because he makes the sound when I leave his site and others are around. He has never done this when I am looking at him. I only hear it. I am very new to the pigeon world- Lucky being my first- so see what the more knowledgeable people have to say as well. :)

·
Registered
335 Posts
voo is also the sound that my birds make when your to close to the nest or they really dont want to be picked up. normally fallowed by a slap of the wings or a stare that could cut glass so little guys just make this sound for really no reason at all.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Boyd will stand near me and say "Voo!" I'll say it back to him (with a heavy accent, no doubt). We might go back and forth for twenty minutes. This is quite different from the cooing and spinning with which Boyd has recently favored me. I'm flattered, but it could never last.

Having no previous pigeon experience, I wondered if "Voo" was a particular kind of communication. Is he asking for something, or playing, or knocking at the communication barrier, or what?

·
Registered
335 Posts
i m thinking that this bird is trying to communicate with you. this bird most likely is trying to figure out what kinda pigeon you are, and is likely your new best friend. GLAD TO HEAR YOUR VOO-ing your birds.

·
Registered
25 Posts
I've noticed different pigeon noises 4 different moods like:
Low quiet "brrr/wooo" - a bit scared but not enough 2 fly away, eyes could be wide & feathers flat
Cody does this when he hears rainbow lorikeets or other noisy birds in the distance
Long "vooo vooo" - on the nest defending territory when people/birds are further away
"Broootktooo" - people/birds closer 2 territory or while pigeons r chasing something