Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
i'm Luke
i'm new to this page and i live in barcelona,(spain)
my hen pigeon (rescue) has been having some verry runny poo's
which stink
could anyone tell me what she's got?:confused: or tell me what to give her?
i havent brought her to the vet because in spain they think of
pigeons as pests:mad:
and i dont want to buy her a mate untill she is well

thanks

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ill try to send you a pic
but im not sure if ill be able to
she has been building a nest for the last couple of days
ill be bout ten minutes

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
If the hen has laid eggs and is incubating them and then comes off the nest and does 1 big poop, those poops are runny and very stinky.:eek:
Another cause of very stinky poop is Trichomoniasis [canker] which is the infection of a single cell parasite. Most Pigeons carry it in their system and it is easy to treat.
There are many products available for canker which you should be able to find on-line. They aren't very expensive. Here are some of the names...Metronidazole...Spartrix...Ronidazole.

Once you do find a mate for your hen and she lays fertile eggs, do replace the eggs with wooden or plastic ones. That way you won't have more babies. Do let the pair go through the incubation process which keeps the hen from laying egg after egg. Doing so, depletes her system of calcium.
Always offer calcium, such as oyster shell and red Pigeon grit each in their own separate dish.

·
Registered
11,336 Posts
Smelly diarrhea can also be a sign of salmonella.

The first thing to do when any animal that has diarrhea is to give it probiotics. They will do no harm and can do a lot of good. Natural yoghurt is a good probiotic.

Cynthia

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
sorry
i cant find the camera
her poo's are light brown and very watery
by the way