Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For a few days this pigeon had been hanging around my bfs place, he has a broken droopy wing and is unable to fly. My bf took the pigeon into his backyard and has had him there since yesterday. He has been eating and drinking. We checked out the wing and there is a bone sticking out, i've included pictures.
Unsure what to do for him? I'd like to take care of him but will he need to go to a vet?

·
Registered
5,421 Posts
An avian vet will be the best option. They can do an x-ray to determine if the wing can be fixed or not. Don't leave him at the vet and don't let them euthanize him if the wing can't be fixed. He can still have a good life with you even if he won't be able to fly again. Thanks for caring.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Hi, I feel like a bit of a fraud giving anyone on here advice because I am very new to pigeons but I just want to second everything that Marina says.

I found an injured pigeon three months ago and one of his injuries was a very badly lacerated and broken wing but he has healed up. Although he can't fly well enough to be released he can "fly" about three feet and jump and flap a surprisingly long way. I now have him as a pet and he seems to be happy.

Even if you can't keep him you will be able to find someone to take care of him.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Hi, welcome to PT and thanks for helping him 😊!

On September 2013 we rescued a broken wing pigeon, Apple.

Her wing was droopy like the one of your bird (I remember that she tripped over it while walking). She had a bad injury under her broken wing, it had a bad smell. Have you noticed any bad smell coming from the wound? If yes, it means that the injury is becoming infected and so an oral antibiotic would be absolutely and urgently needed.

I asked for the name of a vet who treats pigeon in a pet shop (one which sells birds). Apple needed surgery, an antibiotic treatment, a pain med and a bandage.