Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I Found two BABY PIGEONS i Guess about 8 DAYS old (just a Guess) on a BRIDGE, about 40 DAYS AGO i have researched and Found that both of them should be Full Grown but are not and still have balds spots? i am worried could be sick? i started them on formula when i Found them (the KAYTEE exact formula) and weaned them about a week or so on KAYTEE supreme blend Dove Food (recommended)
i am new to this and would Love some advice on how to take care of them THE RIGHT WAY! i LOVE them and would be so upset if i Lost them, since i have takin care of them since Little babes, Please help me i will take all the Help i can Get!
few questions:
should i Free Feed them? don't want them to over Feed?
how to bath them?
what i should Feed them?
i want them indoors? CAGE size or TYPE?
WHY so bald and small?
Thank You!

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Hi,
Welcome to pigeon talk.
Thanks for taking care of these baby pigeons.

Yes you can keep seeds available for them all the time because they are growing up. They will eat as much as they need. Normally pigeons are fed twice a day.

Just keep a large dish of water near them, they will bathe themselves when they like.

You can buy pigeon /dove seed mix from any pet store, that will be nutritious for them.

It should be a large cage( with a flat perch to roost) where they can stretch and flap their wings without hurting themselves. Also they should be opened in room for flying and exercise etc for some hours.

For bald patches they should be treated for canker. They should grow all the feathers at this age, if they don't, it could be because of canker. Also a pic of bald areas would help.
If you can get metronidazole (medicine to treat canker) pls write us the strength so we can tell about dosage and how to treat them. You can even buy fish zole from tropical fish stores but make sure it has only metronidazole in it and no other medicines.

·
Registered