Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie in this site. I need help regarding my problem with a pair of my birds that ate one of the eggs that they were incubating. I've no idea what cause them to do so. I hope someone can help. :(

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
9,478 Posts
Hi

I have never heard of a pigeon eating an egg. Sometimes an egg may get broken, usually by inexperienced parents - or birds who have been disturbed - trampling them. or may roll out if not too safely situated (and seemingly disappear). Pigeons will often remove the shell after an egg hatches, and I have read of them eating bits of eggshell (probably for the calcium) so I guess it's possible they may do so if an egg gets smashed.

John

·
Registered
13,047 Posts
Did you actually see them eating the eggs?
Are you providing them with oyster shell?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi

I have never heard of a pigeon eating an egg. Sometimes an egg may get broken, usually by inexperienced parents - or birds who have been disturbed - trampling them. or may roll out if not too safely situated (and seemingly disappear). Pigeons will often remove the shell after an egg hatches, and I have read of them eating bits of eggshell (probably for the calcium) so I guess it's possible they may do so if an egg gets smashed.

John
thanks for the reply, sir. :)

I have thought that it was just an accident, maybe just trampled but the egg was not smashed, it has a hole as if poked by a bird's beak.