Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to the sport of racing pigeons. My question is about sending pigeons in the mail. I have a shipping box but when I called the post office they acted like they had no idea what I was talking about when I said I want to ship pigeons. Can someone tell me what I need to tell them when I go to ship them?:confused:

·
Registered
126 Posts
Have them send the birds out by overnight express mail. You have the option of having the person receiving the birds either sign for them or not. I always have the person receiving the birds sign for them. The local post office should call the individual receiving the birds to let them know the birds are in. I try and list at least two contact phone numbers like cell phone, and home or business number. Shipping pigeons in the mail is not new, and only a fraction of the birds like chickens shipped daily through the mail.

Dennis Kuhn
http://www.pigeonsuppliesplus.com

http://www.whiteracingpigeons.com

·
Registered
503 Posts
If I may add, please only ship birds Monday and Tuesday, this is incase the birds get lost in the process, atleast you still have Wednesday thru Saturday to look for the birds. Very important is to get the tracking number then go to www.usps.com there you can track your birds and you can also get a confirmation once the birds are recieve by the buyer. Again very important is to ship birds only on Monday and Tuesday. Hope this help.

·
Registered
4,055 Posts
It has been a few years, but I have received three pigeons with no problems whatsoever. The service was great. I received all of mine in the middle of the week, so shipping on Monday is important.

·
Registered
426 Posts