Pigeon-Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I am a new pigeon owner, and I welcomed my 5 week old fancy pigeon, Rocky to my home. He appeared to be doing well and adapting to his new environment in a positive manner. I then started noticing how his head started to lean a little to one side. The next couple days, all of a sudden, BOOM. He lost control of his body and neck, and started freaking out. I was so shocked, scared, and confused as to what was going on- I literally thought we was dying.

Right now, I am providing assisted care to my pigeon. I'm making sure that he eats his food and drinks his water. Keeping him warm, etc.

My question is if this is the PMV virus or salmonella? What are the major symptoms and differences from this bacterial and viral infection? If he is already infected with PMV or Salmonella, will a vaccine be effective at this point?

Again, I am very new to pigeons, so I will welcome all the advice I can get!! His poops look slightly different in that it's looking a little smaller. Other than that, he is laying his head to to floor and is extremely lethargic and tired.

Thank you in advance!!!

·
Registered
315 Posts
Hi! I am brand new to rescuing sick pigeons, but I have a little one with a serious case of salmonella and doesn’t behave in the same way at all so I’m going to take a guess that it’s PMV - there are so many amazing experienced people on here I’m sure you’ll get confirmation soon! Just wanted to reply because I remember when I first posted about Xena (baby snuggles and her pox) i was anxiously waiting for a reply! X i hope you get to the bottom of this and get some help, from what I have read PMV is highly contagious so if you have other birds make sure they aren’t together!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3