Pigeon-Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a feral pigeon family living on my balcony since March last year. They are completely free to go and come as they like. As this is not a long time of experience I am still new to many things. So in fact I wonder about disfection the balcony and the boxes some of them sleep in.

The first thing what I am doing in the morning is cleaning the balcony floor and the boxes where they have left some poop. Each box will receive a fresh layer of paper every day and their sleeping posts - I am using pottery saucers for flowerpots - are covered with fresh kitchentowel so that they don't sit in their own poop during the night. I have the feeling that they love this arrangement.

I am using apple vinegar mixed with water of course for cleaning and disinfecting the balcony balustrade and 2 times a week the balcony floor. I also try to remove all poop whenever it occurs. If there is too much poop on the walls of the boxes (rarely) because they poop in the wrong direction :( - they are replaced by new ones. Also I spray the boxes inside with vinegar/water and wait until they are dry.

Would this be sufficient in order to avoid sickness from my side? I honestly do not like that heavy chemical stuff because I think that will do more harm than postive. But I want to make sure.

Since a few weeks I also add some vinegar (1 teaspoon in 1,5 l) in their drinking water - they seem to love it too. They drink in deep gulps. I did not dare to put in more because of the smell that might repell them. But I am not sure about this.

Any advice is very much appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
20,301 Posts
if your balcony is cement you can scrape the poop with a paint scraper screw the scraper on a long handle and put the scrappings in a bucket and and throw away, you can wash things down with bleach water every now and again.

·
Premium Member
9,478 Posts
Hi Petra